Hungry Savior on My Hectic Day

I had to do lots of laundry that day, so I didn’t have enough time for preparing lunch for my daughters. So by the time they’re back from school, I took them to D’ COST. It is a seafood family restaurant and it’s quite famous here. It’s not just because of the friendly price, but also because the taste of the food is good.

DSC_0639

The Menu Board

DSC_0634

The Menu Board

It was a weekday and  the clock almost hit 1.30 pm. The restaurant was quite empty, maybe because it was already pass the lunchtime break for the workers. The way of ordering food in this restaurant was quite unique for me. Right beside the main door there was a menu board, where we could see all the pictures of the menus and also the prices. For each picture, right below of it, there was a little drawer that contains of cards with the same picture. So if u want to order, you can take one card of the food you want and give it to the waitress, one card for one portion.

DSC_0640

The Menu Card

I told my kids to took one card of the food they want to eat. My youngest daughter took one card of Cumi Goreng Tepung (Fried Calamari), while her sister took one card of Kerang Hijau Saus Padang (Mussels  with Padang Sauce). I also added Kangkung Balacan (Balacan Water Spinach) and Tahu Jepang Saus Padang (Soft Tofu with Padang Sauce). We ordered spicy food because we love spicy food. For drinks, both of my daughters asked for lemon tea.The interesting thing about this restaurant is they give the rice and iced tea for free. You can also refill them for free!

As you know, mostly Indonesian eat rice. We almost eat everything with rice. So free rice is like …wow! Because other restaurant will charges about Rp 3000,- to Rp. 6000,- per plate of rice. One of my youngest daughter’s favorite seafood is squid. So whenever we go to seafood restaurant, she will ask it for sure. The fried calamari was so good. Crunchy at the outside and soft in the inside.

DSC_0645

Fried Calamari

Mussels with Padang Sauce  was also good. The taste was sweet. I bet it was still fresh when it’s cooked. The Padang sauce was not too spicy like any other Padang food I have ever tasted, so both of my daughters could enjoy it without burned their mouth. A brief about Padang sauce. Padang is a name of a city in Indonesia. Padang’s food is usually hot and spicy, so of course Padang sauce  is originally taste very hot and spicy. It made from shallot,garlic, red chili pepper, ginger, turmeric and candle nut. Padang sauce can be used in any dishes, but often used for seafood dishes.

DSC_0642

Mussels with Padang Sauce

At first I wanted soft tofu with salty egg sauce but they said they ran out that menu. But, that’s okay. I ordered soft tofu with Padang sauce and  found the tofu was so delicious and soft. For me this spicy Padang sauce was just tingling my tongue.

DSC_0643

Soft Tofu with Padang Sauce

Kangkung or water spinach, is very familiar vegetable in Indonesia. From this plant we can make alot of yummy dishes. I ordered Kangkung Balacan (Balacan water spinach).The water spinach  is stir fried with balacan or terasi (fermented shrimp). It tasted so yummy!

DSC_0641

Balacan Water Spinach

This restaurant  had saved us  from hungry afternoon! [Q]

Tinggalkan komentar