Sakura Tea Sensation

Hi, this time I won’t talk about Indonesian beverage. I received a very special package from a friend of mine from Hongkong. Recently, she had traveled to Japan and bought me 2 kinds of  tea and a good luck amulet as souvenirs and posted it to Indonesia. The tea are quite unique in my tongue so…yes i want to share my taste experience to you.

Actually she sent the package two months ago. We thought the package was missing when I told her that I haven’t received the package. By the time I got the package, i don’t hesitate to contact her by whatsapp.  She was just so glad and relieved as she was so desperate before. She said that  it’s a good news – added with Mr. Smile bursting with tears emoji.

The package that I received already had been opened. Maybe at the customs. Inside it, there were a can of tea, a letter and brochures about places and a hotel in Ito, Japan – the place where she stayed for several days. I’m sure that the letter had been read too because the envelope was torn. I found two kinds of tea in the can, there were also a Japanese yellow good luck amulet.

IMG_20141206_132432

A can of tea. The chinese word means a kind of beautiful flower and also a kind of juicy fruit “plum”

She gave me two kinds of tea,  a Sakura tea (sakurayu) and a tea with some kinds of flower and fruits flavor. The Sakura tea was in  a little container while another tea was in a package which was unsealed. Someone had cut it, and put some salt inside the packing. I know salt is a traditional way to preserve food. But it made the taste of the tea worst. I don’t know how to separate the salt with the tea (the tea is a powder). So i failed to enjoy the tea.

IMG_20141206_132440

The tea powder.

Then i expect the Sakura tea. First, the appearance of the tea was not interesting. It was mushy and wet and covered with salt.  I brewed this tea with hot water in a transparent glass, so that i could see the flower.

IMG_20141206_112456

Sakura tea. It is covered with salt.

In no time, i saw unbelievable view. I looked at the glass for long time, because it was amaze me. I had never seen the real Sakura flower before. So it was an exciting moment for me. The flower was really beautiful. I like the soft pink color, the soft texture of its petal, and the way it blossoming in the hot water. After feeling satisfied with watching Sakura flower, i drank the water. But it’s salty water. I forgot about the salt! I change the water 2 times. On the third water i could taste a Sakura infused water. I don’t know how to describe this taste. It’s not salty, nor sweet, nor sour, nor bitter. But i can taste Sakura aroma in my tongue. I would describe It’s Sakura taste!.  It is a unique experience, i am glad to have it in my life. Thanks to my friend that she gave me the tea. Thanks to God that i have a wonderful friend.

IMG_20141206_114449

Beautiful and exotic Sakura tea.

Then, I tried to add some sugar to the water, just to know how it taste. The taste was like  a candy. But i think the taste was better without sugar. Next time, i want to try  again this herbal tea which is a seasonal tea. This is a beautiful and exotic  tea i have ever seen. Love this. [S]

Tinggalkan komentar